Synthesis, structures and magnetic characterizations of isostructural tetranuclear Ln4 clusters (Ln = Dy, Ho, and Eu)

Bong Ho Koo, Kwang Soo Lim, Dae Won Ryu, Woo Ram Lee, Eui Kwan Koh, Chang Seop Hong

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

35 Citations (Scopus)


Isostructural tetranuclear clusters [Ln4(salen) 6]·xH2O [Ln = Dy, 1·5.5H2O; Ho, 2·4.6H2O; Eu, 3·5.2H2O; salen = N,N′-ethylenebis(salicylideneiminato)dianion] were prepared by self-assembling the corresponding lanthanide ions and a quadridentate Schiff base. Interestingly, the Ln ions are surrounded by the N- and O-donors of the Schiff bases, leading to seven- and eight-coordinate environments. The heptacoordinated Ln centers adopt a distorted capped trigonal prism, while the octacoordinated Ln atoms are in a dodecahedral disposition. The Dy complex exhibits slow magnetic relaxation, characteristic of a single-molecule magnet. Two relaxation modes in the Dy system are evident when Hdc = 1.4 kG is applied, which is attributable to the existence of the dissimilar coordination geometries around Dy. In comparison, the Ho and Eu analogues were magnetically inspected, displaying no typical slow magnetic relaxation. These findings elucidate that the metal component in the system plays a central role in the occurrence of the magnetization relaxation process. The pronounced long-range order may contribute to intrachain exchange couplings and through-space dipolar interactions between adjacent chains.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)7204-7209
Number of pages6
JournalDalton Transactions
Issue number19
Publication statusPublished - 2013

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Inorganic Chemistry


Dive into the research topics of 'Synthesis, structures and magnetic characterizations of isostructural tetranuclear Ln<sub>4</sub> clusters (Ln = Dy, Ho, and Eu)'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this